Quizipedia: Writing tests

I’ve started writing some tests for Quizipedia, and I’m seeing some advantages that a test-driven approach may have had. In order to write proper tests, I’m being forced to refactor a little bit of the code. It’s not too bad, since I WAS keeping the fact that I’d need to write tests at the back of my head while I was writing the code. My main goal with this was to get SOMETHING out and working, which I was able to do. Now I get to do all the clean up. Now that I’ve scratched the itch to actually get something working, any projects I work on in the future will be test-driven (famous last words?)

Anyways, I started with the basic tests for some of the main library functions in the game (creating/getting/deleting a game and also guessing answers). I am using the chai and mocha framework to write my tests, and so far it satisfies the basic functionality that I’m looking for. Those tests were fairly straightforward, so I’ve moved on to testing the actual game-building. This includes things like scoring a given word and deciding if a word is relevant. Writing the tests allowed me to make an important refactor in the code:

Previously I had a single function that would determine the score of a word. This was a class function, since the score depended on other properties of the gameBuilder object, for example the distance to the PREVIOUS relevant word. I wanted to test the score of a word without this dependency, so I added a STATIC relevance check, which is now part of the entire relevance check. This will give greater flexibility when I integrate some more powerful word scoring into the game, so I’m glad I caught this early. I was also able to do a tiny bit of tweaking/improvements on some of the word scoring while writing the tests.

So the two library test suites are the Basic Game functionality (done) and the Game Building functionality (in progress). Once these are done, I am going to move on to writing tests for the DAL (simply sql calls => should be pretty straightforward) and then tests for the handlers (slightly more complicated).

Leave a Reply

